The Winners in the 2020 Dorset Tourism Awards have been announced

In a unique online awards day held over five sessions on Thursday 4 February this year’s Winners in the Dorset Tourism Awards have been announced.
The event saw 61 awards presented in 22 categories with a final ‘Winner of Winners’ award being the final announcement. It was the culmination of an 11 month programme that started in March 2020 with entrants judged on a combination of their entry submissions, digital presence, reviews and external evidence.


Amongst the day’s top winners was Bournemouth’s Marsham Court Hotel, collecting three Gold awards for Hotel of the Year, Business Events and Wedding Venue of the Year, Dog Friendly Business of the Year and the prestigious Winner of Winners award. Other top winners included The Tank Museum and Nothe Fort in the attraction categories, Dorset House, South Lytchett Manor Camping and Caravanning Park, Burnbake Forest Lodges & Campsite and Farmstead Glamping in accommodation categories and Bridport Tourist Information Centre.


Jurassic Coast Guides took two gold awards for Experience of the Year and International Visitor Experience, with HolidayInDorset – Birchcroft taking gold for Accessible and Inclusive Tourism and Pause Cat Café the hotly-fought gold for Ethical, Responsible and Sustainable Tourism.  Another multiple-winner was Sculpture by the Lakes, taking a bronze and three silver awards. Food and drink golds went to Fish ‘n’ Fritz in Weymouth, The Half Moon in Melplash, Bournemouth’s Picnic Park Deli and Al Molo in Weymouth. There was a special New Business Award for the Cross Keys in Sherborne and the Tourism Innovation gold went to The Grange at Oborne, with the Tourism Event/Festival of the Year gold awarded to White Star Running – Run Jurassic 2019.
In what has been an extraordinary year for tourism three special Unsung Hero awards were announced for Heather Brown of Dorset Foodie Feed, Kellie Court of Tangerine Café & Gallery, and Yessica Falcon of Bournemouth Tourist Information Centre.


The 8th year of the competition has been run in unprecedented times for tourism, but the focus on excellence and feedback for entrants has remained as relevant as ever.


Awards organiser Robin Barker said: “It would have been very easy to cancel the Awards this year – we did think long and hard about it, but the level of early entries we received in spite of everything, and the creativity and determination shown by entrants inspired us to find a way to make this happen – and your responses and feedback ever since have completely blown us away.”


Clare Bushby of headline sponsors Clockwork Marketing says: “We are incredibly proud to share this genuinely memorable day with the finalists of the Dorset Tourism Awards. Huge congratulations to all the winners – what a fabulous day of good news and celebrations for Dorset hospitality businesses.”


Chair of the Judging Panel Professor Peter Jones adds his congratulations: “Dorset tourism, like tourism the world over, is demonstrating resilience and fortitude in coping with the impact and implications of Covid-19 in some amazing ways. Entrants demonstrated creativity and innovation, passion for the industry, and enthusiasm in providing a great experience for their customers in the most difficult of circumstances.


Sara Uzzell, Deputy Chair of the Dorset LEP, added: “What a fantastic day – I’ve really enjoyed celebrating the success of Dorset’s tourism businesses. A much needed boost in these tough times. It has been inspiring to see the energy, innovation and positivity about the future from all the participants in the awards process. The Dorset LEP is proud to support the Dorset Tourism Awards again and we’d like to congratulate all the entrants, the winners and Robin and his team for making it happen.”


All of the winners will be automatically considered for the regional South West Tourism Excellence Awards later in the year as well as receiving feedback from the judging process. 

The 2021/22 awards are planned to be launched in April.


For a full list of finalists see below or visit www.dorsettourismawards.org.uk

2020 DORSET TOURISM AWARDS
WINNERS & COMMENDED (in alphabetical order)
Sponsored by Clockwork Marketing, clock-work.co.uk


ACCESSIBLE AND INCLUSIVE TOURISM AWARD sponsored by Yellow Buses, yellowbuses.co.uk
Gold
•    HolidayInDorset – Birchcroft, Ferndown, birchcroft-hideaway.co.uk
Silver
•    West Bay Discovery Centre, West Bay, westbaydiscoverycentre.org.uk @WestBayDC
Bronze
•    Ellwood Cottages, Blandford Forum, ellwoodcottages.co.uk
•    West Bay Play Area – Bridport Town Council, bridportandwestbay.co.uk/community/west-bay-play-area
Commended
•    Pause Cat Café, Bournemouth, pausecatcafe.co.uk @PauseCatCafe  


B&B AND GUESTHOUSE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Goadsby, goadsby.com
Gold
•    Dorset House, Lyme Regis, dorsethouselyme.com @Dorsethouselyme
Silver
•    St John’s Guest House, Weymouth, stjohnsguesthouse.co.uk @Fishersdream
Bronze
•    Mory House Bed & Breakfast, Southbourne, moryhouse.co.uk
Commended
•    Channel View Guesthouse, Weymouth, channelviewweymouth.co.uk


BUSINESS EVENTS & WEDDING VENUE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Saffery Champness, saffery.com
Gold
•    Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt
Silver
•    Upton Country Park, Poole, uptoncountrypark.com @UptonCPark


CAFÉ/TEAROOM OF THE YEAR sponsored by Clipper Teas, clipper-teas.com
Gold
•    Picnic Park Deli, Bournemouth, picnicparkdeli.com @picnicparkdeli
Silver
•    Seasons Kitchen and Coffee Barn, Ringwood, moors-valley.co.uk/visitor-information/food-drink @moorsvalley
Bronze
•    Pause Cat Café, Bournemouth, pausecatcafe.co.uk @PauseCatCafe  
Commended
•    Upton Country Park Tea Rooms, Poole, uptoncountrypark.com @UptonCPark

CAMPING, CARAVANNING AND HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR sponsored by Tozers, tozers.co.uk
Gold
•    South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, Dorchester, southlytchettmanor.co.uk, @campsitedorset
Silver
•    Durdle Door Holiday Park, Lulworth, durdledoor.co.uk @DurdleDoorHP
Bronze
•    Swanage Coastal Park, Swanage, shorefield.co.uk/holidays/locations/swanage-coastal-park


CASUAL DINING AWARD sponsored by Dorset Food & Drink, dorsetfoodanddrink.org
Gold
•    Fish ‘n’ Fritz, Weymouth, fishnfritz.co.uk @fishnfritzwey
Silver
•    Oriel on the Quay, Poole, orielrestaurant.co.uk
Bronze
•    Peppina, Swanage, peppina.uk


DOG FRIENDLY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR sponsored by Forthglade, forthglade.com
Gold
•    Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt
Silver
•    Upton Country Park, Poole, uptoncountrypark.com @UptonCPark
Commended
•    Polygon Pets Ltd, Poole, polygonpets.com


ETHICAL, RESPONSIBLE & SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD sponsored by Bournemouth Water, bournemouthwater.co.uk
Gold
•    Pause Cat Café, Bournemouth, pausecatcafe.co.uk @PauseCatCafe  
Silver
•    Farmstead Glamping, Sturminster Newton, farmsteadglamping.com @FarmsteadGlamp
Bronze
•    Bridport Tourist Information Centre, Bridport, bridportandwestbay.co.uk, @bridportTIC
•    Sculpture by the Lakes, Pallington, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk @SculptureLakes
Commended
•    English Oak Vineyard, Poole, englishoakvineyard.co.uk @englishoakwine


EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR (ACTIVE OR LEARNING) sponsored by Dorset Tourism Association, dorsetlep.co.uk
Gold
•    Jurassic Coast Guides, Milborne St Andrew, jurassiccoastguides.co.uk @jurassicguides
Silver
•    Shore Campers – Campervan Hire, Bournemouth, shorecampers.co.uk @ShoreCampers
Bronze
•    Fore / Adventure, Studland, foreadventure.co.uk @foreadventure


GLAMPING BUSINESS OF THE YEAR sponsored by Tozers, tozers.co.uk
Gold
•    Farmstead Glamping, Sturminster Newton, farmsteadglamping.com @FarmsteadGlamp
Silver
•    Dorset Forest Garden Glamping, Beaminster, dorsetforestgardenglamping.co.uk

HOTEL OF THE YEAR sponsored by Saffery Champness, saffery.com
Gold
•    Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt
Silver
•    The Bull Hotel, Bridport, thebullhotel.co.uk @TheBullHotel
•    The Grange at Oborne, Sherborne, thegrangeatoborne.co.uk, @grangeatoborne
Bronze
•    RNLI College, Poole, rnli.org/college @RNLI


INTERNATIONAL VISITOR EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Dorset LEP, dorsetlep.co.uk
Gold
•    Jurassic Coast Guides, Milborne St Andrew, jurassiccoastguides.co.uk @jurassicguides


LARGE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR sponsored by Pear Communications, pearcommunications.org
Gold
•    The Tank Museum, Bovington, tankmuseum.org @TankMuseum
Silver
•    Smugglers Cove Adventure Golf, Bournemouth, smugglerscoveadventuregolf.co.uk


NEW TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD sponsored by Visit Dorset, visit-dorset.com
Gold
•    The Cross Keys, Sherborne, thecrosskeyssherborne.com @crosskeyssherb
Silver
•    Shore Campers – Campervan Hire, Bournemouth, shorecampers.co.uk @ShoreCampers
Bronze
•    Hammoon Manor – Luxury Retreat ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’, Sturminster Newton, hammoonmanor.co.uk
Commended
•    The Tunnel Tree Tops, Charmouth, tunneltreetops.co.uk @Tunneltreetops


PUB OF THE YEAR sponsored by Lovegrove Essentials lovegroveessentials.com
Gold
•    The Half Moon, Melplash, halfmoonmelplash.co.uk @HMelplash
Silver
•    The Cross Keys, Sherborne, thecrosskeyssherborne.com @crosskeyssherb
Bronze
•    The Milton Arms, Blandford Forum, milton-arms.co.uk


RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR sponsored by Dorset Food & Drink, dorsetfoodanddrink.org
Gold
•    Al Molo, Weymouth, almolo.co.uk, @AlMoloWeymouth
Silver
•    Moose Kitchen, Charminster, moosekitchen.co.uk
Bronze
•    Zim Braai Ltd, Poole, zim-braai.co.uk
Commended
•    Shalims Indian Restaurant, Weymouth, shalimsbaltihouse.co.uk @ShalimsBalti


SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR sponsored by Quality in Tourism, qualityintourism.com
Gold
•    Burnbake Forest Lodges & Campsite, Corfe Castle, burnbake.com, @burnbake_dorset
Silver
•    Dove House and Swallows, Dorchester, dovehousedorset.co.uk
Bronze
•    Hammoon Manor – Luxury Retreat ‘Far from the Madding Crowd’, Sturminster Newton, hammoonmanor.co.uk

SMALL VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR sponsored by Resort Dorset, resortdorset.com
Gold
•    Nothe Fort, Weymouth, nothefort.org.uk @NotheFort
Silver
•    Sculpture by the Lakes, Pallington, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk @SculptureLakes
Bronze
•    English Oak Vineyard, Poole, englishoakvineyard.co.uk @englishoakwine
Commended
•    Dorset Falconry Park, Dorchester, dorsetfalconrypark.co.uk
•    West Bay Discovery Centre, West Bay,  westbaydiscoverycentre.org.uk @WestBayDC


TOURISM EVENT/FESTIVAL OF THE YEAR sponsored by Hall and Woodhouse,  hall-woodhouse.co.uk
Gold
•    White Star Running – Run Jurassic 2019, Bridport, runjurassic.co.uk
Silver
•    Sculpture by the Lakes – Dorset Arts Festival 2020, Pallington, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk @SculptureLakes
Bronze
•    Dorset Festivals Consortium – Dorset Moon 2019, dorsetmoon.com

TOURISM INNOVATION AWARD sponsored by Worldpay, fisglobal.com/en-gb/merchant-solutions-worldpay
Gold
•    The Grange at Oborne, Sherborne, thegrangeatoborne.co.uk, @grangeatoborne
Silver
•    Sculpture by the Lakes, Pallington, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk @SculptureLakes

UNSUNG HERO AWARD sponsored by Clockwork Marketing, clock-work.co.uk
Unsung Heroes
•    Heather Brown, Dorset Foodie Feed, dorset.foodiefeed.co.uk @dorsetfoodifeed
•    Kellie Court, Tangerine Café & Gallery, Beaminster, tangerinecafe.co.uk
•    Yessica Falcon, Bournemouth Tourist Information Centre, Bournemouth, bournemouth.co.uk/visitor-information/tourist-information-centre @bmouthofficial

VISITOR INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR sponsored by Yellow Buses, yellowbuses.co.uk
Gold  
•    Bridport Tourist Information Centre, Bridport, bridportandwestbay.co.uk, @bridportTIC
Silver  
•    Shaftesbury Tourist Information Centre, Shaftesbury, shaftesburytourism.co.uk @Shaftesbury_TIC

WINNER OF WINNERS sponsored by Dorset LEP, dorsetlep.co.uk
•    Marsham Court Hotel, Bournemouth, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt

 

Bookmark and Share
All content ©2010 The Business (Dorset) Ltd www.bizmag.co.uk
Website designed and managed by WhitesandsPR www.whitesandspr.com